image preview

Creation Date


Building Name

Burke County Courthouse


Burke County Marker, Waynesboro, GA.

This marker was placed by the Georgia Historical Commission in 1956, outside the Courthouse in Waynesboro, Georgia.

The marker reads as follows :

" Burke County, an original county, was created by the Const. of Feb. 5, 1777, from Creek Cession of May 30, 1733. In 1758, it had been organized as the Parish of St. George. Originally, it contained parts of Jefferson, Jenkins and Screven Counties. Burke County was named for Edmund Burke (1729-1797), writer, member of Parliament and eloquent defender of the cause of the colonies in America. Lemuel Lanier was commissioned Sheriff, Jan. 27, 1778. Thos. Burton, David Lewis, Nathan Hooker, Dan. McMurphy became Tax Collectors in 1778. Thos. Lewis, Jr., was made Surveyor Feb. 17, 1782. In 1787 John Davies was commissioned Clerk of Courts and John Duhart, Coroner."

Latitude, Longitude

33.09025556, -82.01591111

Rights Statement


Taylor, George Lansing, Jr.; Lance Taylor; Photographers -- Florida -- Jacksonville; Photograph collections -- Florida -- Jacksonville; Burke County Marker; Burke County; Edmund Burke; Historical markers --- Georgia --- Waynesboro.; Images


Image Location